Down Memory Gap Lane
Unitone World
05 - 03 - 2001

Track list
  1. Memory Gap Lane
  2. Turn The Tide
  3. Lee Perry
  4. Football Dub
  5. Monsta
  6. Ingmar Bergman In Dub
  7. People
  8. Reparation
  9. Gunman
  10. Duppytrain
  11. Peace O Mind
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
From the creative force of David Barratt and Papa Dee comes both the project "Dubchek". David Barratt (UK born producer and re-mixer) has been re-mixing for the likes of Tina Turner, David Bowie, Ginuwine and MC900 Ft Jesus, not to mention his own various projects. Papa Dee, most notably the voice of Brooklyn Funk Essentials, has released numerous solo-releases in Europe.
Their album - or is it something else ?? - is a booming, galactic tapestry of sounds, samples, voices, music and numerous effects scattered over pounding bass lines and mixed into a ecological system of dub. This is the kind of music Lee Scratch Perry would cherish, King Tubby could have made in the year 2020 and dub fanatics will embrace! I find it hard to write a fitting review of this album because the influences hear here are many although I've spinned the album numerous times ! One of the tunes that fits the description reggae best is Gunman, but other songs remind me of some of Pink Floyd's early albums. When you start the album it's quite impossible to stop listening until you've reached the end of the disc. The last track - an 18 minutes journey into the mind and soul of Dubcheck - combines and mixes all of the elements of the preceeding tracks and leaves you wondering.....
Originality is something you can't create, it's there or it isn't.....Check out Dubcheck!