Drastic Times
Patrick Mystery And Mystery System
Best Kept Secret Music Ltd.

Track list
  1. Jah Chant
  2. Give Thanks And Praises
  3. Cry No More
  4. Drastic Times
  5. Lion
  6. Terrorist
  7. Race War
  8. Sky Is Falling
  9. Mystery
  10. Black Nation
  11. Hope For The World - Filium Dei (Son Of God)
  12. Latin Chant
  13. Messiah
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4
If you think you have seen strange fusions of reggae with other influences, this disc may still have a surprise for you. I personally like the unexpected fusion of Gregorian chants and reggae lyrics. The 'straightforward' reggae selections remind me a lot of former Bad Brains vocalist H.R./Human Rights solo releases, both in vocal and in musical style. All conscious lyrics are printed on the sleeve, and Patrick Mystery has written all music and lyrics and (co-)produced all selections, and plays almost every single instrument on this release. The CD would have been better if it had less Bob Marley style oh-yo-yo-yo's in a few songs, especially with so many conscious lyrics to offer, and doesn't benefit from the US style rap on "Mystery". This disc is especially recommendable for those who like H.R.'s solo releases, but left me wondering about what could have been if the Gregorian chants (tracks #1 and #12) weren't acapella, but would be over either Nyahbinghi style drumming or pulsating reggae beats.