Dreams To Remember
Lloyd Brown
VP Records-Walboomers Music
February 8, 2004

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Bongo Nyah
  3. In The Mood
  4. Since You Been Gone
  5. Dreams To Remember
  6. Rocksteady
  7. Desiderata
  8. So Near So Far feat. Fiona
  9. I Miss You
  10. Me Without You
  11. Rejoice Your Blessing
  12. Guide Me
  13. Come
  14. Spellbound
  15. Singerman feat. Fiona
  16. So Lonely
  17. No One Can
  18. Heartache
  19. Heartaches feat. Fiona
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Highly rated UK based vocalist Lloyd Brown follows up the "Against The Grain" with "Dreams To Remember", his debut album for VP Records. This brand new cd is produced by Lloyd and Michelle Campbell and features the recent singles "Since You Been Gone", "Dreams To Remember" and "Heartache" that have appeared on their "Joe Frasier" label. Brown’s musical talents have been bubbling steadily since the early 80s, however it was the release of the albums "Deep" and "Against The Grain" that brought him to the forefront of reggae music in the new millennium. Among his most recent chart hits are "Guide Me", "Bless Me" and "Black Bags". "Dreams To Remember" is the first collaboration between Lloyd Brown and the US based producer Lloyd Campbell. The title track is the a cover of the same name made famous by the legendary soul crooner Otis Redding. The role of the latter in the cultural musical Black Heroes was once played by Lloyd Brown, so it was only a matter of time before Brown would record an Otis Redding tune for one of his albums. With "Dreams To Remember" the singer with the deep, sultry voice delivers an album that tends to so-called "big people music" and thus will surely satisfy the mature listener. Just like its predecessors this album mixes original compositions with cover songs. In an interview with "Music Week" Brown said : "The way I put my album together is that I try not to follow the same route as other artists, because you can be sort of pigeon-holed. So really, I basically want to cover a wider spectrum of music that is true to me, whether that's Eric Clapton, Phil Collins, Stevie, Bob, Beres, or Dennis Brown." After the cultural intro and the wicked rendition of Little Roy's popular 70s hit "Bongo Nyah", we're mainly treated to songs that deal with affairs from the heart. Among them standout tunes such as "In The Mood", "Since You Been Gone", the wonderful "Me Without You", "No One Can" and "Heartache". Furthermore this set features spiritual tunes like e.g. "Rejoice Your Blessings", "Come" and the excellent "Guide Me" across an updated version of Culture's classic "Jah Jah See Dem A Come" riddim. Also worth of hearing are "Spellbound" and the combination tunes "So Near So Far" with songbird Fiona and "Heartaches" with Sasha. Musicians who worked on the album include Dwight Pinkney, Mafia and Fluxy, Sly Dunbar, Robbie Lyn, Michael Fletcher, and Dean Fraser.
"Dreams To Remember" is a well produced album that fully displays the wonderful voice of Lloyd Brown!