Dub 911
Nature Sounds-Munich
May 16, 2006

Track list
  1. The Anti Christ
  2. Babylon Burning
  3. Burning Hell
  4. WMDS
  5. 911
  6. Guided Missiles
  7. Flying At Night
  8. Crying For Peace
  9. Run Saddam Busch Coming
  10. Find Him In A Hole
  11. Punk Motherfucker
  12. Don't Fuck With America
  13. No More War
  14. No Terrorist
  15. Peace In The Middle East
  16. Peace On Earth
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2
Hopeton Brown, the mixing engineer who became known as Scientist, burst onto the reggae scene in the mid 70's with a reckless mixing style that seemed to outdo even legend King Tubby's wildest extravaganzas. He began his career as an engineer at King Tubby's Jamaican recording studio in 1978. Shortly afterwards he became a protege of King Tubby, and swiftly gained a reputation with his unique and innovative mixing style. Scientist soon became Jamaica's top recording engineer and worked with everyone imaginable, including Dennis Brown, Barrington Levy, Freddie McGregor, Dean Fraser, Linval Thompson, Augustus Pablo, The Heptones and many more. This led to a surge of albums mixed by Scientist from various sources throughout the 80's with "Scientist Meets The Space Invaders" being the most noteworthy.

"Dub 911" is Scientist's first studio album of all new material in 3 years with The Defenders Of Freedom -- consisting of Santa Davis, Fully Fullwood, Tony Chin, George Hewes, Steve Reed, Dale Hauskins and Manguece -- providing the riddims and a variety of "9/11" and "America's war on terrorism" references providing the song titles. The album opens with "The Anti-Christ", a nice dubbed up reworking of the Soul Vendors' Studio One classic "Swing Easy". The rest of this album brings the listener some entertaining, well dubbed tunes (some of them with vocal snippets of Humble Soul and April Weller here and there for good measure), which provide a glimpse of Scientist's effects-riddled style and mixing wizardry he's known and respected for. Unfortunately this set also contains quite a few mediocre efforts. "Babylon Burning", featuring an annoying heavy rock guitar sound, is even below par and thus deservedly gets the skip treatment whenever we play this album.

Even though "Dub 911" isn't one of Scientist's strongest releases (and definitely doesn't match the quality of his solo dub discs from the early 1980s), it will surely find its way to fans of Jamaican dub music.