Babylon Annihilation
Dub Terminator
Green Queen Music
Digital Release
September 25, 2011

Track list
  1. Call Me feat. Melloquence
  2. Bad Mind feat. Ras Stone
  3. Let It Blaze feat. Melloquence & Tidal
  4. Let Me Know feat. Senita Mogul
  5. Man Like Me feat. Senita Mogul
  6. Fire Raiser feat. Senita Mogul
  7. Bed Of Rose feat. Senita Mogul
  8. Dope Magnets
  9. Jealous feat. Senita Mogul
  10. Kill Switch
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
New Zealand dubventurer Chris McLay, probably better known under his moniker Dub Terminator, unleashes a brand new album called "Babylon Annihilation". Working from his Ocean View studio in Devon Port (Auckland NZ), he has been exploring the many faces of electronic music over the last decade. In the last few years he has brought a host of well-known artists into his productions including people like Natty King, John Holt, Yellowman, Sizzla, and Jim Nastic aka Jim Brown, meanwhile becoming widely known for his own personal blend of roots reggae, electronic music, dubstep, and future style reggae.

For this album he created the riddims in his own studio, while working closely with up-and-coming Jamaican vocalists Melloquence, Tidal, and Senita Mogul, and New Zealand based African vocalist Ras Stone. Riddimwise the main contributors to the sound of this collection are the Mini Moog and the classic space echo, bringing lots of 'phat' bass & synth tones balanced by the dirty darkness of the spring reverbs. "Babylon Annihilation" features a mix of sounds and styles ranging from dancehall, reggae and ragga to dubstep and hip-hop with elements from grime as well as mainstream club culture. The listener is treated to the heavy dubstep mix of the ganja tune "Let It Blaze", the more commercially-vibed, hip-hop oriented "Bed Of Rose" and the sparse and dubbed out "Dope Magnets", to point out only three examples of the multiple flavored sounds included here. It makes this set a very varied musical affair, which on the one hand will surely appeal to open-minded music lovers, but on the other hand will be abhored by purists. Our favourite tracks include the album opener "Call Me", "Bad Mind", and "Bed Of Rose".

All in all this is a well-produced effort, offering the listener a nice journey through Dub Terminator's soundscapes.