Dubbin' De Vibes
Michael St. George
Passin' Thru Records
October 24 - 2004

Track list
  1. Attention
  2. Dubbin' De Vibes feat. Cherry Natural, Benjy Myaz, Oku Onuora
  3. Caged In
  4. Missing U feat. Pam Hall
  5. I Do
  6. See Us Through feat. Benjy Myaz
  7. Decay
  8. No Two Sides
  9. Mega
  10. Babel Tower
  11. Statement
  12. Caged 'n' Dub
  13. Decay 'n' Dub
  14. See Us Through (Selector's Mix)
  15. Missing U Dub feat. Pam Hall
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Unlike reggae and dancehall, dub poetry has never really risen from the underground, even though dub poets like Linton Kwesi Johnson, Mutubaruka, Oku Onuora and Yasus Afari have released albums that were received with critical acclaim. No matter how hard they try, their releases probably will never reach the masses. Michael St. George - a native of Jamaica, but now based in Toronto, Canada - has joined the ranks of the dub poets some 20 years ago after having listened to Jamaican wordsmiths Miss Lou, Mikey Smith and Oku Onuora. Throughout the years he has become one of Canada's leading Dub Poets. A qualified gerontology activity coordinator and remotivation therapist, Michael blends spiritual energy, social commentary and artistic revelry to deliver his poetic messages. He has received extensive media coverage and community support for his work and has performed across North America, the Caribbean and the U.K. He has been awarded with several Canadian Reggae Music Awards including Newcomer Male Category, 1993, Two Time Caribbean Crucible Dub Poet of the Year, 1994, 1996 and Birmingham 1997 Slam Champion.
"Dubbin' De Vibes" is Michael St. George's latest album, the follow up to "Root 2 Fruit", which was released in 1998. Featured are guest appearances by Cherry Natural, Benjy Myaz, Oku Guru Onuora (on title cut), Pam Hall ("Dubbin de Vibes Dub"), Dalton Brownie, Bobby Treasure, Orville Malcolm and Iauwata Selassie. "Caged In", "See Us Through", Decay"" and "No Two sides" are some of the songs that see St. George passionately tackling an issue with a verve customary with dub poets. This album is produced with quality in mind and the modern roots riddims are expertly laid. All in all a decent, but above all uplifting dub poetry album.