Dub Combo
Israel Vibration
RAS Records
08 - 07 - 2001

Track list
  1. False Babylon - Wiss
  2. Show Me The Money - Skelly
  3. True Revolutionaries - Wiss
  4. Nah Fix It - Skelly
  5. Take Cover - Wiss
  6. Unfair Advantage - Skelly
  7. Outta Here - Wiss
  8. Future Generation - Skelly
  9. Foul Talking - Skelly
  10. Whole Heap A Dem - Wiss
  11. Hope Springs Eternal - Wiss
  12. Don't Follow Trouble - Skelly
  13. Dusk Till Dawn - Wiss
  14. Peace Process - Skelly
  15. Make Some Room - Wiss
  16. Oneness - Skelly
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
After the departure of founding member Apple Gabriel - who left one of the finest and most appealing vocal roots reggae groups to pursue a solo career - the other two founding members, Skelly and Wiss, continued to perform and record as Israel Vibration. "Pay The Piper" was the duo's first delivery under the name Israel Vibration since Apple's departure, a nice effort, but failing to make a serious impression as the album lacked the sweet harmonies and sounds so typical for an Israel Vibration CD. It was only a temporary 'problem' as Skelly and Wiss delivered the album "Jericho" on which they unmistakably showcase their true form. From beginning to end the listener is treated to the pure magic of Israel Vibration music : appealing roots reggae in it's finest and purest form.
Their current album 'Dub Combo' contains dub mix versions of select choice cuts from these two albums (tracks 1-10 from "Pay the Piper" + tracks 11-16 from "Jericho"). The dubs on 'Dub Combo' are traditional dub outings, no experiments nor crossover attempts are found here. The original tunes were laid down at Leggo Recording studio in Jamaica, but for this album they recruited Jim Fox who did a good job mixing the dubs at his Lion & Fox recording studio in the US. The transparent and clear sound of Jim Fox adds a surplus value to the album. Musicians include Flabba Holt, Dwight Pinkney, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Junior Marvin, Sly Dunbar, Franklyn "Bubbler" Waul, Keith Sterling, Dean Fraser, David Madden, Chico Chin and Uzziah "Sticky" Thompson.
Although Israel Vibration is no longer in the forefront of reggae music, this dub album will surely please all traditional roots & dub fans.