Dub Fire
Lee "Scratch" Perry
Ariwa Sounds

Track list
  1. Soul rebel
  2. Dub fire
  3. Rock this boat
  4. Working man
  5. African place
  6. Doctor Dick
  7. On the street again
  8. Why people funny
  9. Come go with Lee
  10. Keep on learning
  11. Covetious
  12. I love you
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Although 62 years of age Lee "Scratch" Perry is still alive and kickin' in reggae business. During recent years Lee Perry (mad by reputation) has been working together with London based producer Mad Professor (mad by profession). This cooperation not only resulted in a series of impressive album releases for Neil Fraser's (the name on the Professor's passport) Ariwa Sounds label that calls the whole question of sanity into question, but also led to a rather successful tour which brought Lee Perry - together with the Mad Professor & the Robotiks - to the U.S.A., France, Germany, U.K. and The Netherlands.
This new album may be keenly anticipated by both Lee "Scratch" Perry fans and curious observers of the Upsetter's live shows, as some of the songs which were well received on his recent shows (Working man, Come go with Lee and African place) are included on this set. The Robotiks (for this occasion joined by brass section Urban Breeze and backing singers Sushi & Sherifa) are tight right down to the harmonies and the old Upsetter seems to enjoy himself as he mainly reworks gems from his own extended musical history, among them three Bob Marley covers - Soul rebel, Rock this boat and Duppy conqueror (renamed On the street again). Although this album can't be seen as an essential addition to Perry's musical heritage, it's a solid effort after all.