Dub From The Secret Vaults
Twilight Circus
ROIR Records
May 9 - 2004

Track list
  1. Big Youth intro
  2. One Drop
  3. The Groove
  4. K2500
  5. Achou
  6. Slyy
  7. Bassie Dub I
  8. Other Worlds of Dub
  9. East of Memphis
  10. Electric Africa
  11. Twilight C meets Tommy Z (Heartbeat Riddim)
  12. Bassie Dub II
  13. Lift off
  14. Space Dust
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5

Multi-instrumentalist, producer and engineer Ryan Moore is Twilight Circus (Dub Sound System). He is a Canadian now based in Nijmegen. Ryan grew up in the dense, gummy forests of Vancouver, where he was exposed to reggae at an early age. He became obsessed with the genre & learned to play multiple instruments by playing along with classic Jamaican recordings. By 1981, Ryan was working as a studio musician for Nettwerk Records. He went on to become a member of Legendary Pink Dots, and Tear Garden (with cEvin Key of Skinny Puppy). His obsession with dub & reggae was very strong and soon began experimenting with dubs. Ryan plays and mixes all the tracks himself in the studio he built himself with the analog gear he painstakingly sought out and purchased himself. Instead of digital gear, Ryan often uses live instrumentation (all the way down to single drum hits themselves) and mixes his dubs live. In other words, he is a one-man dub army.
In 1995 he released his first album as Twilight Circus Dub Sound System on his own M Records. He has since gone on to release over 10 albums and countless singles, EPs, & Dub plates to worldwide acclaim & respect from his peers--as evidenced on Foundation Rockers (M), which featured collaborations with Mykal Rose of Black Uhuru, Luciano, Ranking Joe and the legendary Big Youth (who also makes an appearance on this album).
This album, 'Dub from the Secret Vaults' is Twilight Circus' 11th full-length album and first to be released by a US label -ROIR-, the label who has always dedicated itself to promoting the world's best innovative dub. The set is a collection of unreleased tracks spanning 1985-2003. The tracks here are mostly slow paced dub expeditions, not all of them being as vital and wild as I had expected. Sometimes the sound brings me back to the 70's rockers style, check out the wonderful track Achou, while Bassie Dub 1 & 2 are heavy bass driven soundtracks. Completely different is Electric Africa, an integrating piece of music. Hard to describe is Twilight C meets Tommy Z (Heartbeat Riddim), listen yourself and wonder....
Ryan explains the compilation as follows : "Years ago I collected numerous releases from ROIR during their early cassette-only days. I can recall eagerly awaiting the next mail order delivery containing various musical treats: dub, reggae & otherwise. It is now with a sense of this history that I have prepared this new Twilight Circus album for ROIR. All the material has never before been heard outside the secret dub laboratory. The tracks span all the various eras of Twilight Circus up to the present & even include some early dub experiments recorded on cassette almost 20 years ago!".
Interesting set !

For more information contact: Ryan Moore - M Records, P.O. Box 469, 6500 AL Nijmegen The Netherlands.
Tel/Fax: (+31) 24 -3603984.
Web Site : Twilght Circus Dub Sound System