Dub In The Roots Tradition
Blood & Fire

Track list
  1. King Tubby's answer
  2. Dub bible
  3. Dub 16
  4. Pick up the dub
  5. Don't rush the dub
  6. No dub island
  7. Love you dub
  8. When I love dub
  9. See a dub face
  10. One man dub
  11. Sunshine version
  12. Dub livity
  13. Babylon fight dub
  14. African daughter dub
  15. Home version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Scientist aka Hopeton "Overton" Brown, was born on the 18th April 1960. He began his career as an engineer at Studio One in 1978 mixing the dub to Sugar Minott's " Oh Mr. Dc." among others. He became a protegé of King Tubby and quickly gained a reputation with his fresh mixing style. Following his stint at Tubby's, he started working at Channel One, where he became the resident engineer, forging a commercially succesful partnership with Henry Junju Lawes. Scientist's dubs became so popular and in-demand that by 1980/81 he was actually releasing albums containing his unique mixes of hot Roots Radics riddims. At the end of 1982 the original dub boom was pretty much finished and by 1985 he moved to the USA. This album comes from the early career of Scientist, he was only seventeen or eightteen when he mixed most of these tracks. All tracks were produced by Don Mais for his Roots Tradition label and mixed at King Tubby's studio. Soul Syndicate and Roots Radics provide the inspirational backing for these wicked dubs. Recommended lethal dub album !