Dub Marley
The Wailers
Tabou1-Walboomers Music
14 - 10 - 2001

Track list
  1. Get Up Stand Up Dub
  2. Natty Dread Dub
  3. So Jah Say Dub
  4. Lively Up Yourself Dub
  5. No Woman Dub
  6. Guava Jelly Dub
  7. Road Block Dub
  8. I Shot The Sheriff Dub
  9. Concrete Jungle Dub
  10. Soul Rebel Dub
  11. Get Up Stand Up Instrumental
  12. Natty Dread Instrumental
  13. So Jah Say Instrumental
  14. Concrete Jungle Instrumental
  15. Road Block Instrumental
  16. I Shot The Sheriff Instrumental
  17. No Woman Instrumental
  18. Lively Up Yourself Instrumental
  19. Guava Jelly Instrumental
  20. Soul Rebel Instrumental
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
During the recording of the Bob Marley and The Wailers' album 'Rastaman Vibration' at Harry J's studio the Wailers band and guitarist Lloyd 'Gitsy' Willis recorded some 10 of Bob Marley's best known tunes. Most of these tracks were recorded during breaks and between the separate recording sessions. Each individual song was given a mellow dub treatment by ace enigineer Sylvan Morris. The result was a 20 track album which was released on a very limited scale in Jamaica in 1976. All the tunes were produced by the guitarist Lloyd 'Gitsy' Willis.
We think it's not necessary to highlight any of the tracks, because these tunes all are Bob Marley classics. And also the players of instruments actually do not need any introduction, they were among the best session players of that time : the Barrett brothers on drums and bass, Tyrone Downie on keyboards, Lloyd 'Gitsy' Willis on guitar and Alvin Patterson & Aston Barrett on percussion. The album is 'divided' into two parts, one with 10 dubs and one with 10 pure instrumental takes. The dubs are quite mellow, not too many effects are included, which gives the tunes a relaxed feel. On the instrumental tracks as well as the dubs Gitsy's guitar-licks predominate, but in the way he plays his instrument it all sounds very enjoyable.
"Dub Marley" is a smooth dub/instrumental album.