Dub Net Philosophy
Lee Perry

Track list
  1. Koma rock in dub
  2. Love, Maize, & Beans
  3. Miles Jump Ahead
  4. Calypso Control
  5. Lion Train
  6. Rasta Muzungu Dub
  7. Dub Of The Masai
  8. Punky Monkey
  9. Black Environment
  10. Dub Clot Inna Bath
  11. Harambee Avenue
  12. Do The Lion Dub (CD bonus track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 3 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
With the hundreds and hundreds of Lee Perry productions available, it's only natural that there will be some dubious ones, and DUB NET PHILOSOPHY is one of them. These tracks are not so much dubs but rhythm tracks to various Perry productions with a bit of dub effects thrown in every now and then; none of the "way out" effects we've come to expect from Perry. While none of the music is that unusual, the CD itself is: the sleeve lists "Lady P" and "Omar Perry" as co-producers, and the notes sing the usual praises of The Upsetter but give no information about the tracks or the players. The track listing is very weird as well; no doubt that these are not the original titles. (Serious Perry fans will no doubt enjoy the challenge of figuring out the original versions.) "Miles Jump Ahead" is a version of Perry's "When You Walk", "Rasta Muzungu Dub" and "Harambee Avenue" are The Upsetters' "In The Iaah" and "Outer Space", and "Black Environment" is The Wailers' "Soul Almighty". Also, the "bonus" track is actually track 5, "Lion Train", repeated! These mysteries and trickery aside, DUB NET PHILOSOPHY is a solid collection of instrumental Reggae and Dub. Certainly the CD would have benefitted from better sleeve notes and information, but the music speaks for itself: solid, bass heavy, one drop, spooky, and groovy - in short, a Lee Perry CD.
Review courtesy of Mick Sleeper