The Dub Project
M Records
August 31, 2007

Track list
  1. Earth Shake feat. Michael Rose & Big Youth
  2. Why Can't We Be Friends feat. Big Youth
  3. On The Edge
  4. Guns In The Street feat. Jah Stitch & Michael Rose
  5. Dervish
  6. Watcha
  7. Amagideon
  8. Prehistorical Dub
  9. Champion
  10. Greatest Genius
  11. The End
  12. Nirvana
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 3
This album will please those of you who loved Ryan Moore's earlier work, since it seems to pick up where "Other Worlds of Dub" and "Bin Shaker" left off.

The tracks sound like a collision between Neu, Can's "Tago Mago" and Brian Eno's "Before and After Science" / "Another Green World", put through the echo chamber with strong influences from Channel One, UK sound system's sonic ethics and Tubbys.

Think Eno's "Energy Fools the Magician" fusing aggressively with edges of Style Scott's harsh timbale tuned snares; think Sly Dunbar's multi layered inventiveness, cut and spliced with Can's "Mushroom Head" and the sonic darkness of UK roots inner city meditators, Alpha and Omega -- and you'll have some idea where this album is going.

It's a hot headed, stormy work -- from the savage boom and harsh snares on "Earth Shake" to the nervous tension of "On the Edge" to the cut up tape loops of Trappist hermit monks' chant, to the delirious somnambulism of the Jon Hassell style "Nirvana".

If you feel tired of the formulaic nature of most current Euro dub , obsessed as it is with "heaviness" and "weight" over creativity -- form over substance -- and if you don't find much to satisfy in the (often) lyrically contradictory, insincere modern JA roots tunes, and if you feel that Dub Step hasn't in any deeper musical sense lived up to its massive urban hype, then this is an album to check out.

Any plans for a team up with Pharaoh Sanders and Jon Hassel then Ryan?