Mad Professor
Ariwa Sounds

Track list
  1. Action radio
  2. Checkmate !
  3. Greathop dub
  4. Boombox dub
  5. Boombox version II
  6. Slice of the pie
  7. Dub-o-tronic
  8. Drum & bass in the asylum
  9. Acid queen
  10. Cool dude
  11. Disco dub
  12. Bedroom sensation
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
This newest album of London based Neil Fraser aka The Mad Professor showcases the unique skill and talents of this sound weirdo to its fullest. The first track "Action Radio" is actually a kind of telephone conversation between bass player Eddy Brown and the Professor about what's happening on the radio lately.
The latter says "I got some new stuff. I wanna bring it out, I wanna get it played over there. I think the people ought to hear it, you know". With Eddy replying "What is it like, what is it exactly ?". The Mad Professor answering "Well, you can call it what you like, I don't have a name for it, but it sounds something like this...have a listen...."
Then the album really kicks off with "Checkmate !", a dubby interpretation of one of popgroup Wham's huge hits which makes you wanna sing "Wake me up, before you go go...". This track marks the beginning of what happens to be a refreshing, varied selection of contemporary U.K. dub music, with the Mad Professor in full control of the proceedings. And that's really a lot as he effortlessly covers a wide range of dub or dub related outings like drum & bass and triphop. The final result is a solid and thrilling album, indicating that one of England's most important dub innovators has gone into a "new" sound and direction without ignoring his origin.