Dub, Weed & Fyah
May 23, 2007

Track list
Disc 1

  1. Intro Bongo
  2. Da La Cara
  3. Special Present feat. Bongo Herman
  4. Ciegos
  5. Intro
  6. Joy In The Morning
  7. Soldados De Jah
  8. Comunidad Rasta / Live And Let Live feat. Junior Kelly
  9. Intro Nyahbingi
  10. Unidad Rasta
  11. Una Diosa
  12. Estado Puro
  13. Business
  14. Intro
  15. Ganja Seed feat. Frisco Kid aka Ancient Monarchy
  16. Intro feat. Avelino
  17. Mueve Tu Culo Negro
  18. Tu Peor Enemigo
  19. Irie Man
  20. Jah Cuida De Mi
Disc 2

  1. Intro Bongo
  2. Una Diosa Dub
  3. Dub In The Morning
  4. Soldados Del Dub
  5. Ciegos Dub
  6. Ganja Dub Seed
  7. Special Dub
  8. Unidad Dub
  9. Mueve Tu Culo Dub
  10. Dub La Cara
  11. Estado Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Spain's premier reggae band Caņaman, formed by musicians of several countries, unleashed its debut album in 1997. It got good reviews from the media and three year's later the band presented the second album, "Change Of Life", which featured Soul & Funk workouts next to Reggae pieces. It was with the 2004 released "Borders" album that Caņaman obtained a deeper Reggae sound as it was completely recorded in Jamaica with collaborations of top artists like Capleton, Marcia Griffiths, Anthony B, Louie Culture and Sly & Robbie.

"Dub, Weed & Fyah" is the band's latest release, this time recorded in Madrid, Spain, but mixed in Jamaica and mastered in London by Kevin Metcalfe. The first pressing is a limited edition double cd with 20 vocal tracks and a bonus disc of dubs entitled 'Caņaman Meets Fatta', with Lynford "Fatta" Marshall being the engineer who dubbed up selected tracks at Anchor studio in Kingston, Jamaica.

This album offers a powerful modern roots reggae sound, sometimes spiced with a slight dancehall flavour like for example in "Soldados De Jah" ("Soldiers Of Jah") and its second version with a guest appearance of Junior Kelly entitled "Comunidad Rasta / Live And Let Live". Except for a rendition of Dennis Brown's "Joy In The Morning", this set contain all original material. The songs are predominantly performed in Spanish, with a few partly in English language, which might be a problem for those who aren't familiar with the Spanish language. Lyrically the songs deal with injustice, Ganja smoking, peace & unity, the celebration of Jah, and the hard life of the musicians who make Reggae in Spain.

Overall this is a decent album with a few high points including "De La Cara", "Ciegos", "Soldados De Jah" and "Estado Puro". However it's doubtful that this set will reach an international audience due to the fact that most of the songs are performed in Spanish language.