Cool Operator ~ 19 Classic Tracks
Delroy Wilson
Music Club

Track list
  1. Cool Operator
  2. Suspicion
  3. Better Must Come
  4. I'm In A Dancing Mood
  5. I'm Not A King
  6. Riding For A Fall
  7. Once Upon A Time
  8. I Can't Stand It
  9. Rain From The Skies
  10. Here Comes The Heartaches
  11. Trying To Conquer Me
  12. Just Say Who
  13. Sun Is Shining
  14. Closer Together
  15. What Am I Living For
  16. Tune In
  17. I'm Still Waiting
  18. Take It Easy
  19. Push Come To Shove
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5
Delroy Wilson, born October 5, 1948, Kingston, Jamaica, took up recording for Coxsone Dodd at the age of 15. He left Studio One in 1969 and joined Bunny Lee's impressive rosta of artistes. All through the 70s his output was prolific, and his 1976 cover of The Wailers' I'm Still Waiting stands the test of time well. He recorded for several producers and even scored in the digital era with some serious slices for King Jammy. In 1995, at the depressingly early age of 46, he sadly passed away, ravaged by the drink that had overtaken his life.
This retrospective album provides an interesting overview of the man's recording career. You'll find some of his best outings here, such as Cool Operator, Better Must Come, Rain From The Skies, I'm Still Waiting and I'm Not A King. A lot of tunes are Bunny Lee productions from the 70s, but the album also features reworked versions of earlier hits, which he recorded in the 80s. Next to an interesting cover of Cocoa Tea's Tune In he also reworks Freddie McGregor's 1986 hit Push Come To Shove. Other highlights on this fine compilation set are Horace Andy's Just Say Who and Closer Together.