Black Uhuru
RAS Records
22 - 09 - 2001

Track list
  1. Liberation 2000
  2. Mother Of Iration
  3. Stability
  4. Dread To Be Rasta
  5. Prophecy
  6. Bone Alone
  7. Proselyte
  8. Top Of The Pop
  9. Psychopathic Drunkies
  10. Unfair Game
  11. Evil Spiritual Gangster
  12. Gathering Time
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Black Uhuru (the Swahili word for freedom) has always represented the gritty sound of reggae and has always stayed firm in their convictions to promote the political and spiritual side of reggae. In their many incarnations, Black Uhuru have always had Duckie "Gong" Simpson as the leader and torch-bearer of the Uhuru sound. Having won the first Grammy ever for reggae, the band enjoyed their greatest successes with the line-up consisting of Michael Rose, Ducky Simpson and Puma Jones. After Michael Rose left the group and was replaced by Junior Reid, Uhuru recorded some albums for RAS. Later, Don Carlos and Garth Dennis rejoined the group and a number of recordings were done for the Mesa/Blue Moon label. Now, with Andrew Bees as the lead singer and Sly Dunbar contributing all drum tracks and with stellar performances by Robbie Shakespeare, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Dean Fraser, Robbie Lyn and Asher Brissett to round out a field of musical stalwarts, the band has delivered an album whith enough potential to see a whole new resurgence of Black Uhuru fans. Although not all of the songs are equally strong, the album contains some wicked roots tunes, most of them featuring Andrew Bees on lead vocals. Unfortunately his voice sometimes isn't heard that well due to the back up singers being to prominent in the forefront. Liberation 2000 reminds us of some of Black Uhuru's best classic tunes and is a wicked and brilliant tune. The same goes for Mother Of Iration and Stability. Further interesting tunes are Psychopathic Drunkies, Dread To Be Rasta and the Nyahbingi flavored Gathering Time. The album was recorded at Music Works and Taxi Studios, Kingston, Jamaica and was mixed by Jim Fox at LION and FOX Recording Studios, USA.