Album review
Each Day
Open Season
Leech Records
12 - 04 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Open Again
  2. Rudies Unite
  3. Each Day
  4. A Day Off
  5. Pointless Love
  6. Stand Firm
  7. Small Time Crook
  8. Desperate Song
  9. Caribbean Sunset
  10. Love
  11. Woman In The Street
  12. Descarado
  13. Obispo #303
  14. Chicago Avenue
  15. Carry On
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Young Swiss 9 piece ska band Open Season, a year after releasing their very nice 3 track maxi-CD "Rocksteady Fever", present their full album debut "Each Day" on Leech Records, and qualify for the major league of traditional ska, rocksteady and reggae. Opening their debut album with the short intro "Open Again" welcoming everybody to 'another great Open Season record' they burst into "Rudies Unite" next a great tune in old fashioned style, with some 'other Carribean' percussion influences, and Open Season seems to be an exception nowadays, because every tune on this album is an original composition. Most lyrics are written by leadsinger and rhythm guitarplayer and (together with leadguitarist Res Staudenmann) founder of Open Season Santosh Aerthott or the lady who joined them shortly after that, alto saxophone player Sabine Schnyder. Most music was composed by either Santosh Aerthott or Res Staudenmann, but trumpetist Florian Thalmann contributed instrumental ska "A Day Off" and the ballad "Love" was composed and sung by keyboard player Lucy James. "Each Day" is a love song with a nice rocksteady guitar intro in which the female backing vocals blend very well with Santosh Aerthott's lead vocals over a jazzy double bassline, showcasing the strong horn section as well as the drumming and percussion in fine soli. "Pointless Love" leans more towards the reggae spectrum with partly deejayed vocals in a dancehall style, not unlike Dr.Ring-Ding & the Senior Allstars. "Stand Firm" is another reggae track, embellished by horns, with nice conscious lyrics by Res Staudenmann, who also wrote the jazzy (swing) ska instrumental "Small Time Crook" following it. "Desperate Song" doesn't sound as sad as the title leads you to suspect, very nice instrumental backing, with the heartfelt sung plea to a girl on top of it. "Carribean Sunset" is an instrumental which gives space to horns and piano and jazzy rocksteady guitar in a jazzy cocktail style without ever losing the Carribean vibe. The wonderful ballad "Love" is followed by the equally strong organ and bass led and horn driven uptempo "Woman In The Street" before the stomping latin-ska track "Descarado" shamelessly (pun intended) kicks in. "Obispo #303" is another Res Staudemann instrumental, this time in a slower jazzy groove, with a title that left me wondering (obispo meaning bishop in Spanish) which bishop would have been half as great as this wonderful jazz-ska tune. "Chicago Avenue" is a traditional ska tune, great horns after a 'subway-intro' about feeling happy between people complaining that don't see the beauty around, while seeing it, being the stranger in town. This album is a wonderful collection of original ska, rocksteady and reggae tunes by a young promising band, that hopefully will do exactly what they sing on the last 'blue' tune of this album "Carry On". If you want to find out more about this album (that was featured and very positively reviewed in the 'Easy Skanking' section of German dancehall reggae magazine riddim as well, just click here.