Album review
Earth Crisis
Ruff Stuff Records

Tracking list

  1. Moving too fast
  2. Earth crisis
  3. Mr. Bossman
  4. God bless the children
  5. Haile Selassie
  6. Reggae music
  7. Bad lamp
  8. Roots do the work
  9. Praise Jah
  10. Jah is the key
  11. Run and hide
  12. No hard drugs
  13. Earth crisis (original mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Batta, real name Anthony O'Meally, was born in St. Catherine, Jamaica and migrated in 1973 to the USA. His first release was a duet with Sugar Minott, "Sometime Girl". Alongside Tyrone Evans he recorded "Acting Shy" and an album named "Argument". Joining the group "Jezreel in 1983 the release af the single "Playing tricks on my mind" gained him respect and audience awareness. On the self produced "Earth Crisis" Batta's voice is controlled, captivating and wailing. The album presents a broad range of themes from hard drugs, and the praising of Jah, to pollution, atomic energy and nuclear weapons. The album's high points are "Moving to fast", "Earth Crisis" (two different mixes), "Run and Hide" (an uptempo reworking of the Baltimore riddim), "God bless the children" (Batta alongside an uncredited dj), "Haile Selassie" (utilising the Swing Easy riddim), "Praise Jah", and "Jah is the key" (on the Love Me Forever riddim). The beat on "Earth Crisis" is always "simple" but present and keeps a traditional feel without sounding dated. The collaboration between Batta and the dj on "God bless the childen" makes this a swinging, moving song.
"Earth Crisis" is a highly enjoyable and uplifting album worth checking out !

Teacher & Mr. T.