Album review
Misty In Roots
Kaz Records

Tracking list

  1. Follow Fashion
  2. Own Them Control Them
  3. Earth
  4. New Day
  5. Poor And Needy
  6. Servant To Jah
  7. Persecution
  8. Dreadful Dread
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

This CD showcases the way reggae sounds at it's best lyrically and musically.
Follow Fashion is a cry for a change in people's attitude, running around for cars, houses with which to impress their neighbour. "It's just a dream" over an excellent uptempo reggae beat accompanied by jazzy horns. The song highlights that vocal harmony still exists.
Own Them Control Them 's riddim is dominated by rhythm guitar and keyboards in a kind of groovy manner, giving the song a disguise as a "happy go, lucky" reggae song, giving the listeners the kind of positive and careless feeling Bob Marley's 'Could You Be Loved' gives . The lyrics are however pure anti-Babylonian Rastatements.
Earth is a cry for Mother Earth, Misty in Roots emphasizing what could happen if we don't change our ways of life, total destruction of the earth.
New Day is a song that reminds me a lot of Don Carlos during his collaboration with Gold. Positively praising Jah over a classic-roots-style rhythm. Very strong selection, it is very hard to stay seated when you are listening to this song.
Poor And Needy is another of Misty In Roots outcries for justice for the sufferers, set to a rockers-era type of rhythm over which the vocals are very strong delivered paired with some great scat-like chanting.
Servant To Jah isa very spiritual track, with some great percussion and piano licks and again horns as if blown by angels, sung in a more chanting style.
Persecution is a track built around a great horn and guitar lick, with fine lyrics about the struggle of life in which "many are our enemies".
Dreadful Dread is a song about Babylon, "Which we can't stand no more".
It is a song worthy of closing a very strong (even according to their own standards) set, that did not yet get the praises this deserves. One of the best reggae albums ever recorded.