Album review
July 19 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Physically Critically
  2. Press A Button featuring Anthony B
  3. I Love Weed
  4. Every Posse (Fly Down)
  5. Keep Accusing Me
  6. I'll Be Waiting
  7. Champagne Bottle
  8. Joey Joey
  9. Wa-Do-Dem (revisited)
  10. Mean Dreams
  11. Tek Wey
  12. Politics
  13. Pretty So
  14. Let There Be Night
  15. Nuh Lie Down
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Eek-A-Mouse's "Eek-A-Speeka" follows hot on the heels of Greensleeves re-issue of the "Mousketeer" album and the RAS release of Eek-A-Mouse's "Mouse Gone Wild" set. The latter, Mouse's most experimental release to date, brought mixed feelings to his long time fans and most likely this brand new Steve "Blacka Dread" Martin produced album is going to do the same despite the fact that the mighty Blacka Dread said... "I am one of Eek-A's biggest fans and I wanted to produce an album that sounds genuinely like the Eek-A-Mouse that we all love and know". "Eek-A-Speeka" is Mouse's fifth original album for Greensleeves and although it is announced as a treat for all Eek-A-Mouse fans of old and new, it fails to live up to expectations raised by the producer as well as the record company. Of course, there's the humour and the unique style of Eek-A-Mouse, and also a great line-up of players of instruments including Mafia & Fluxy, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace, Dean Fraser and Firehouse Crew to name a few, but as a whole this album lacks consistency. Recordings for this album were done about two years ago in London and besides the roots stuff and dancehall on it, Eek-A-Mouse tries some new beats mostly incorporating the modern-day style that's going on in the UK. However, an Eek-A-Mouse trying his hand at a variety of styles doesn't work. Thus we're treated to too much tracks that are 'neither fish nor flesh', and even the revisited version of his signature tune "Wa-Do-Dem" can't change that overall feeling. But fortunately not everything featured on "Eek-A-Speeka" is an unsuccessful effort. Really enjoyed listening to "Physically Critically", "I'll Be Waiting", "Mean Dreams", "Let There Be Night", which comes across Augustus Pablo's classic "Java" riddim, and the combination song with Anthony B called "Press A Button".

Teacher & Mr. T.