The Truth
Ever-G Muzik
CD / Digital Release
June 17, 2016

Track list
  1. The Truth
  2. Poor People
  3. Come On Home
  4. Teach Us To Love
  5. Jah Love
  6. Goodbye
  7. Mission
  8. World Peace
  9. Pretty Lady
  10. Lets Unite
  11. Independence
  12. Upful Woman
  13. Mama Africa
  14. Yardie
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Ever-G is a Jamaican born singer, guitarist, songwriter, arranger and producer who is based the US. Born in 1958 he started singing in church, following his mother's example. By high school, he played in a band with fellow students, a habit he continued when he attended college at the Jamaica School of Agriculture. After graduation, he worked as a high school science teacher before getting a job as a technical consultant in the capital city of Kingston. After a traumatic experience at his work he decided to leave for the US. He eventually played reggae with Washington bands including Unconquered People and Positive Vibration. He met fellow reggae musician Vincent "Biggs" James of Hampton. They became friends and Ever-G then decided to move to Hampton. He and James started a musical collaboration that led to the 1999 album, "World Peace". Eventually they broke up and Ever-G recorded more tunes and released several albums. His new - self produced - album is a 14 track roots set with an occasional lovers tune.

The album offers traditional reggae vibes, with a subtle rock influence (guitars), catchy melodies and the soulful vocal delivery of Ever-G. The album opens with the current single "The Truth". A solid roots tune! "Poor People" tells us about the hard life in the ghetto, but "Come On Home" sees him inna aching lovers mood. "Teach Us To Love" is Ever-G's interpretation of Culture's "Two Sevens Clash". "Jah Love" impresses with its guitar solos and vintage organ licks. Studio One's "Hi-Fashion" aka "Bobby Bobylon" riddim forms the backdrop of two tunes. First on the roots tune "Mission" and later on the lovers tune "Upful Woman". "Mama Africa" and "Independent" are two more tunes we have spinned more than once! The album closer "Yardie", across the riddim of "My Commanding Wife", shows his love for his motherland Jamaica, "proud to be a Yardie"!

Amongst the (mostly US) musicians we've spotted Chico Chin on horns. This veteran trumpet player has been a prominent member of the so-called Rass Brass, a horns group featuring heavyweight talents David Madden, Dean Fraser, Junior "Chico" Chin and Ronald "Nambo" Robinson.