Emotionally Charged
Peter Spence
Cou$ins Records
March 27, 2007

Track list
  1. Emotionally Charged (Interlude)
  2. The Truth
  3. Alone Again
  4. Love Is Just
  5. How To Love
  6. Janet Sinclair
  7. How High
  8. Street Soldiers
  9. Stir It Up
  10. Over-Whelming
  11. That Little Girl
  12. Come And Dance feat. Apache Indian
  13. Jewel In The Crown
  14. Can't Done
  15. Welcome You Home
  16. Too Deep (Interlude)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Without doubt Birmingham's Peter Spence can be reckoned amongst the UK's best reggae vocalists. However it's not that often fans of Peter Spence can welcome fresh material from this hardly prolific fine singer, but when a brand new collection of tunes hits the streets, one thing is for sure... it's quality time! It's hard to believe, but "Emotionally Charged" is only the fourth album from the singer since he delivered his debut set "I'll Be There" in 1989 (the other two being "Unfinished Business" and "Lovers Rock").

For his brand new album Peter Spence has teamed up with a variety of producers including Stingray, Phillip Gadd, Gussie P, Joe G, J 'Jaffa' Taylor, O'Neil Clarke, Tony 'English' Welch and Netherlands based Iggy Triepels, usually not a recommendation for getting a well balanced set, but in this case it turns out to work very well. "Emotionally Charged" features wonderful silky vocal deliveries, good songwriting and well laid riddims, the latter a mixture of classic backdrops and fresh originals.

After the real nice "Emotionally Charged (Interlude)" -- should have been a full length track in our opinion -- the listener is treated to an excellent piece called "The Truth", which -- together with the solid "How To Love" -- utilizes an original 1967 rocksteady riddim from Lynn Taitt & The Jets. "The Truth", a self-penned observational song, makes use of a Derrick Morgan classic entitled "Happy Independence", while "How To Love" uses another old Derrick Morgan song called "Pretty Blue Eyes". Anyone who liked what Bitty McLean did with Treasure Isle riddims on his cd "Peckings Presents... On Bond Street With The Supersonics", will be delighted when he hears these two tracks.

"Alone Again", over a riddim with a wicked basssline, and the irresistible "Love Is Just", which is underpinned by an updated version of a Studio One classic, are great efforts and underline Peter Spence's proficiency with lovers rock material as do "How High" ("Missing You" riddim), the wonderful "Can't Done" ("Camorra" riddim), and "Welcome You Home". Solid tunes are the previous single "That Little Girl" on the "Blooded City" riddim, the Stingray produced "Janet Sinclair" (a rendition of the Little John & Billy Boyo tune from 1982) and "Over-Whelming".

Although often labeled a lovers rock artist, Peter Spence occasionally proves that he's also capable of delivering great reality tunes as can be witnessed while listening to the Gussie P produced track "Street Soldiers" (aka "They Keep Crying"), previously released on a Recession Beater 12inch. Also check out "Jewel In The Crown", performed over a great riddim and a tune that will surely appeal to all Jamaicans abroad.

"Emotionally Charged" is a highly enjoyable album and thus worthwhile checking out!

NOTE: This album can be purchased directly from Peter Spence's My Space site, Dub Vendor and Cousins Records as well as all good outlets worldwide.