Album review
Exalt Jah
Mikey General
Qabalah First Music-Stone Tiger Entertainment

Tracking list

  1. Interlude
  2. Exalt Jah feat. Adigun Minkah
  3. As A Man Thinketh
  4. Mind Over Matter
  5. In Times Like These
  6. Red Ina Rome feat. Luciano
  7. Babylon In A Mess
  8. Fly Away, Runaway
  9. King For Life
  10. Thank You, Jah feat. Turbulence
  11. Change Of Attitude
  12. Pretty City
  13. Strive
  14. Love Chant
  15. Count Your Blessings
  16. Conquer All My Foes
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Ex-London resident Michael Taylor aka Mikey General, most well-known for his association with the "Messenjah" Luciano, first came to notice with a series of strong dancehall tunes for Fashion Records in the eighties. In 1992 Mikey General moved to Jamaica where he met Luciano during a recording session at Castro Brown's New Name studio in Kingston. Then he teamed up with Xterminator producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell for whom he recorded some notable roots singles and the albums "Sinners aka Stronger Rastaman" and "I'm Just A Rastaman". In 1998, along with his friend Luciano, Mikey left the Xterminator camp to freelance before forming their own "Qabalah" label. Early 2000 Mikey General unleashed his third album entitled "Spiritual Revolution". His brand new album "Exalt Jah" contains 15 tracks of sheer quality produced at various different studio's in Jamaica including Black Scorpio, Music Works, Steven Stanley Studio, 321 Strong, Big Ship, Mixing Lab and Studio 2000. Expertly backed by some of the best musicians around such as The Firehouse Crew, Mafia & Fluxy, Steely & Clevie and Sly & Robbie, Mikey's assured vocal approach comes to full expression on every single track. Included here are former 7" singles like the excellent "As A Man Thinketh", the awesome "Mind Over Matter", the stepping "Love Chant", the dancehall flavored "Count Your Blessings" and "Conquer All My Foes", the latter delivered across the wicked "Addiction" riddim. Furthermore we're also treated to fresh tracks. Especially "Strive", "Change Of Attitude" and the combination tunes "Thank You Jah" (with Turbulence) and the killer roots "Red Ina Rome" (with Luciano) can be pointed out as the most notable efforts.
"Exalt Jah" is a well varied set with fresh positive messages that show there is no limit to this man's musical talent. Satisfaction guarenteed for modern roots followers!

Teacher & Mr. T.          Buy the CD