Exploring The Dangers Of...
Dub Trio
May 26, 2005

Track list
  1. Drive By Dub
  2. Casting Out The Nines
  3. Scoop And Smash Em
  4. Sick Im Kid
  5. Real Wicked Ways
  6. Awakening Dub [Live]
  7. Fur Boots On The Party Moose [Live]
  8. Sick Im [Live]
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 4
This is a very reasonable debut album from a band who use no samplers, no drum machines and no keyboard digital basses. They have recorded with Maxi Priest too, so they know how to work within a conventional reggae format.

This album has a spirit of innovation in places -- on some tracks there is a strong jazz influence with shades of Jonas Helbog, 8th Day/ Bardo Music and hints of later Blue Note artists like Jon Scofield -- "Casting Out The Nines" is an example of this style, with its Eno like keyboard sweeps and free jazz snare drum use.

But mostly -- this is very conventional dub played with a lot of energy and an obvious love for the form. For similarities, think Conscious Sounds releases like "Release The Chains" or, at points, the early Creation Rebel albums engineered by Dennis Bovell.

"Real Wicked Ways" has a punk agression to it and is similar to the New Age Steppers first album -- think "High Ideals And Crazy Dreams." This track has the same deep and hostile bass distortion.

"Awakening Dub" has an opening guitar slash borrowed straight from "No No No", and again, is very similar to "Release The Chains" specifically in regards to the drum patterns.

The sleeve art gives the impression that this may be a punk-dub venture, like Bad Brains, Fishbone or The Slits -- but there are only brief hints of such styles -- this is, largely, historically orthodox roots reggae, straight out of the late 70's/early 80's.

One for early Dennis Bovell and early ONU Sound followers.

Buy the CD