Album review
Fallen "Is Babylon
Ziggy Marley & Melody Makers

Tracking list

  1. Fallen is Babylon
  2. Everyone wants to be
  3. People get ready
  4. Postman
  5. Brotherly sisterly love
  6. Born to be lively
  7. Long winter
  8. I remember
  9. Day by day
  10. Five days a year
  11. Notice
  12. Diamond city
  13. Jah bless
  14. People get ready (R.H. factor reggae vocal mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

"Fallen is Babylon", the new album from Ziggy Marley & the Melody Makers is a smooth solid production of mostly originals presented in a contemporary style. Stephen Marley takes the lead vocal on 5 tracks as Ziggy does lead vocals on the rest of the cuts, sometimes accompanied by Stephen when it comes to the deejaying part of a song. The hip-hop related "Everyone wants to be" includes a guest appearance of Wycleff from the Fugees, which indicates that this disc not only aimes at the reggae market but also has flavors for a wider (crossover) audience. "People get ready", "Postman" and "Long winter" are among the standouts.

Teacher & Mr. T.