Album review
Feel Good All Over ~ Medley Album
Winston Francis
Charm-Jet Star
January 15 - 2005

Tracking list

  1. Tonight
  2. Why Can't I Touch You?
  3. Sitting In the Park
  4. Love Is A Treasure
  5. One Woman
  6. Oh Me Oh My
  7. Never Get Away
  8. I'll Get Along Without You
  9. Say You
  10. Secretly
  11. Sunshine
  12. Midnight Hour
  13. Feel Good
  14. Come Tomorrow
  15. Stick By Me
  16. Rain Drops Keep Falling
  17. I'm Not A King
  18. For the Good Times
  19. A Lover's Question
  20. Mr Fix It
  21. Venus
  22. Can't Help Falling In Love (With You)
  23. Red Red Wine
  24. What A Wonderful World
  25. Without My Love
  26. Sweet Sensation
  27. Endlessly
  28. Fools Fall In Love
  29. Picture On the Wall
  30. I've Got To Go Back Home
  31. Ba Ba Boom
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 3 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

A true veteran of the international reggae scene, Winston Francis began his career in the 1960s with a string of hits for Clement 'Coxsone' Dodd's "Studio One" imprint. As well as smashes like his version of Joe South's "Games People Play" and "Reggae And Cry", his time at Studio One also brought forth the classic "Mr Fix It" album, a set that remains a top-seller even today. After all these years Winston Francis is still recording music and doing live performances. In 2003 he and his old friend A.J. Franklin garnered praise from all corners, when they released their solid collaboration album "Stand Firm". The idea behind Winston Francis' brand new project, "Feel Good All Over", is simple. Assemble a collection of your favourite tracks from across the years - from the realms of reggae music and beyond - and create a medley album; a continuous stream of music where each tune flows seamlessly into the next. The set, produced and arranged by Tony 'Ruff Cut' Phillips, features a whole heap of new versions of classic reggae riddims alongside familiar soul cuts including Winston's own "Mr Fix It". It's the veteran singer's good voice that makes it a joy to hear his interpretations of all-time classic songs like for example Bob Andy's "I've Got To Go Back Home", Delroy Wilson's "I'm Not A King", Freddie McKay's "Love Is A Treasure", The Jamaicans' "Ba Ba Boom" and Wilson Pickett's soul scorcher "Midnight Hour". Unfortunately the backing provided by the Ruff Cutt Band fails to cause real excitement. There's only little variety in the sound and most of the times it simply doesn't sparkle. In spite of this minus, "Feel Good All Over" takes the mature listener on a nice trip down Memory Lane.

Teacher & Mr. T.