Album review
Feel the Power
Cocoa Tea
VP Records-Walboomers Music
30- 09 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Feel The Power
  2. Sniper
  3. No Time To Lose
  4. Who
  5. Sinners Surrender
  6. Sweet Life
  7. Moses Law
  8. True Love
  9. L.O.V.E. (featuring Louie Kulcha, Silver Cat, Ken Serious & Anthony Selassie)
  10. Iím Sorry
  11. Who Let Them Out
  12. Hot Again
  13. Auction Block
  14. Sliding
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Sweet voiced Cocoa Tea started his career while still a child in Kingston in 1974, singing on a couple of obscure records for producer Willie Francis under his real name Calvin Scott. As Cocoa Tea he definitely emerged in the eighties when he teamed up with the late Henry "Junjo" Lawes. Unlike most dancehall singers of those day he utilized a more subtler, melodic approach. In 1985 he delivered his excellent debut album "Can't Stop Cocoa Tea", which was followed by such fine albums as "The Marshall", "Come Again", "Rikers Island" and "Kingston Hot". The last years he's been working with Phillip "Fatis" Burrell, releasing excellent roots and culture albums. At the end of the nineties Cocoa Tea opened his own recording studio in Clarendon, Jamaica, and founded his Roaring Lion" imprint. His apparent reluctance to travel is holding Cocae Tea back from being a major star.
'Feel The Power' is Cocoa Tea's latest album and he has teamed with producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell on twelve of the 14 selections which cover all the bases of foundation reggae music; driving rhythmic pulse and inspired lyrics of praise. The feeling throughout the album is quite mellow and it makes a well balanced impression. After the excellent title track comes the biting Sniper, followed by the awesome track No Time To Lose. The self-produced tune Who is a compelling tune dealing with the leadership of the USA. On L.O.V.E. he teams up with the deejays Louie Kulcha and Silver Cat and also with the singers Ken Serious and Anthony Selassie, and this combination results in a solid effort. Next to great rootical tunes the album also contains some exquisite lovers tunes like I'm Sorry, Hot Again, Sweet Life and True Love.
A settled artist like Cocoa Tea can't go wrong, so check out 'Feel The Power'.

Teacher & Mr. T.