Feel Your Presence
Denkenesh Records
July 4, 2010

Feel Track list
  1. No Guts No Glory
  2. Bruk Down Barrier feat. Jah Mason
  3. Feel Your Presence
  4. Capture The Moment
  5. Close Call
  6. Turn Around The Garrison
  7. Back Bone
  8. Round The Track
  9. The Day The Dollar Die
  10. Propaganda
  11. Big Robbery
  12. World Jungle feat. Sugar Minott
  13. Since When
  14. Indigenous World
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 5-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 10
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Born on the Caribbean island of Dominica and grown in St. Thomas, NiyoRah's start in the music began with chanting on the streets about ghetto life in the Savan ghetto of downtown Charlotte Amalie. Years later he has three albums under his belt ("Different Age", "Purification Session", and "Stolen Scrolls: The Mixtape") and his music is now played on those same streets as well as before thousands of fans from the Caribbean, North America and Europe.

Three years after the release of "Stolen Scrolls: The Mixtape" (a collaborative project joining the forces of NiyoRah, I Grade Records and DJ Child of Project Groundation Massive), and even four years after his excellent second studio album "Purification Session" saw the light of day, there's NiyoRah's long awaited third studio album entitled "Feel Your Presence". Entirely recorded in Jamaica in studios like Tuff Gong, House Of Hits, Uprising Studio and Small World Studio. with backing provided by musicians such as Earl "Chinna" Smith, Tony Green, Paul Crossdale, Anthony Thomas, Lloyd "Obeah" Denton, Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace and Andrew "Bassie" Campbell, who also produced the 14 track album, this brand new NiyoRah set fully lives up to expectations.

Besides the outstanding "Capture The Moment", known from the 2008 released dbl cd compilation "Gather The Remnant", there's a lot more that deserves to be heard by fans of the modern roots movement, starting off with the excellent album opener "No Guts No Glory". The latter has lyrics to match and is one of the many highlights on this album. Also great to hear is the sparkling single "Bruk Down Barrier", done in combination with Jah Mason. Here, and later on in the political "Propaganda", NiyoRah fully shows that he's not only a good and distinctive singer, but also a real fine singjay. The single and title track "Feel Your Presence" is another strong and entertaining tune. All in all the first four tracks are deadly goods and thus a great way to get the listener involved from the very start.

But luckily it doesn't stop here as the listener is treated to much more niceness and even a few gems. "Turn Around The Garrison" is a solid tune that calls for peace and unity, while "Round The Track" proves to be a beautiful tune after it has grown on you. Lyrically interesting is "The Day The Dollar Die", however from a musical point of view it surely isn't one of the most accessible tunes around. More or less the same goes for the excellent "Big Robbery". Veteran Sugar Minott plays a major role in "World Jungle" and adds a very nice 'old skool' vibe to this effort, while NiyoRah takes the role of singjay. The meditative "Indigenous World", underpinned by a riddim solely based on percussion, rounds off this collection of tunes in real fine style.

"Feel Your Presence" shows that NiyoRah has grown as a lyricist and also, in a certain way, as a singer/singjay. Hopefully this album will cause a big breakthrough for this very talented conscious artist.