Fight With All Your Might
Anthony Cruz
VP Records
June 2, 2008

Anthony Cruz - Fight With All Your Might Track list
  1. Love Is Falling
  2. In This Thing Together
  3. Fight
  4. Fly Away With Me
  5. For The Love Of You
  6. Hard On You
  7. Hold Me feat. Nikkiesha Barnes
  8. Things We Donít Like
  9. Leaders Of The World
  10. Music To Dem Head
  11. My Story
  12. No Ordinary Girl
  13. Strangers To The World
  14. Take It Off
  15. When We Ride
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 6-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 3-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 12
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Rohan Smith aka Anthony Cruz (born December 17, 1974) grew up in Mandeville, Manchester JA. Hailing from a talented musical family - being the nephew of the celebrated singer Garnett Silk - he was convinced from a young age that he was destined to be a great singer. After graduating from Holmwood Technical High School, he migrated to the United States, spending a few years in New York before moving to Miami. In 1993, while in Miami, fate led him to meet producer Willie Lindo. Lindo was impressed with a demo tape he heard of Cruz and took him under his wings. In 1999, Cruz decided to return to Jamaica to claim his piece of the pie in the land of his birth and the home of reggae music. The first song he recorded back home, "Maria Maria", became a hit, and from then he continued to make hits after hits including "Mama's Blessing", the infectious "Halfway Tree", "People Bawlin'" on Massive B's "Truths & Rights" riddim, "Lost In Love" over Energy's "Queen Of The Minstrel" riddim, and the wicked combination tune with Buju Banton entitled "Place Too Bloody".

Since 2006 smooth voiced singer Anthony Cruz is under the management of Donovan Germain of Penthouse Records, which has resulted in the release of a brand new collection of tunes entitled "Fight With All Your Might", the follow up to his second album "Mama Blessing", which was released by Jet Star Records from London, England. With so many hits under his belt and the fact that he has teamed up with Donovan Germain to take his musical career to the next level, it's obvious that expectations are raised high. Unfortunately as a whole this album doesn't live up to these high expectations. Needless to say that Anthony Cruz is a singer with a very good voice, and although mainly known for his lovers material, he's also able to deliver a good reality tune. And that's exactly what this album is all about... good singing, predominantly lovers tunes, a few conscious efforts... but nothing there that distinguishes him from other singers in the genre.

But don't let that turn you off, because this album contains nuff niceness to make it worth of hearing. Riddimwise the set features a few very strong musical backdrops from the Penthouse vaults like the ones that underpinned Wayne Wonder & Buju Banton's "Bonafide Love" ("Movie Star" riddim), Beres Hammond & Marcia Griffith's "Live On" ("College Rock" aka "Freak Out" riddim), Ras Shiloh's "Child Of A Slave" ("Land Of Love" riddim), and Beres Hammond's "Give It All You've Got" ("Continuation" aka "Stop The Fighting" riddim). Also worth mentioning are the riddim tracks that were laid by Ernie Wilks for "My Story", "No Ordinary Girl" and "When We Ride", as well as the Mafia & Fluxy built riddim for "In This Thing Together". These tastefully crafted riddims permit Anthony Cruz's voice to shine in all its beauty.

The outstanding tracks feature "In This Thing Together", his recent hit "Leaders Of The World", and "No Ordinary Girl". Among the other highlights are "Love Is Falling", the dancehall fueled "Things We Don't Like", "Music To Dem Head" the herb tune "When We Ride", and "Hold Me", the combination with Nikkiesha Barnes. Tracks that best can be avoided to play are the cover of the Isley Brothers' "For The Love Of You" and "Hard On You". We know that many Jamaican artists love to listen to Soul music, but to feature Soul tunes on a reggae album... it simply doesn't make sense.

As already pointed out, Anthony Cruz is a very good singer and several tracks here make for compelling listening, but in the end that's not enought to qualify "Fight With All Your Might" as a fully satisfying album.