Album review
Fiona's Moment

Tracking list

  1. Angel Of Mine
  2. Touch Me In The Morning
  3. From This Moment On (Featuring Brian Gold)
  4. When Will I See You Again
  5. That Funky Music
  6. Since I Lost My Baby
  7. You Don't Know Me
  8. Hold On
  9. Some People
  10. Too Much (Featuring Teisha)
  11. Have A Nice Weekend (Featuring Merciless)
  12. Why - Interlude
  13. Why
  14. I Could Fall In Love
  15. I Care For You
  16. For You I Will
  17. Gett.O.U.T.
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Born Fiona Robinson in May 1976, Fiona takes the listener on a romantic trip following in the footsteps of such greats as Marcia Griffiths, Judy Mowatt and Pam Hall, just to name a few. Fiona has already tasted international success gaining three nominations at the 1998 Tamika Reggae Awards in the New Artist of the Year category for the Keith Thomas written hit "I Could Fall In Love," which is also included on this album.
Her album Fiona's Moment represents what covers are suppose to be. Take a good pop, r&b or soul tune, use a talented singer blessed with a versatile, melodic and mesmerizing voice and lay it over a solid reggae riddim. Finally team up with several singers and deejays (Brian Gold, Merciless, Teisha) and the result is a smooth and versatile reggae/lovers rock album.
The album is a sophisticated showcase for Fiona's r&b based stylings, featuring a mixed bag of standards and lovers rock tunes. Produced by longtimers Lloyd and Michelle Campbell, Jason Sterling and Rory Baker, the album contains such highlights as the R. Kelly cover 'Don't Put Me Out', here retitled GETT.O.U.T., Hold On which uses the 'Fade Away' riddim, and I'm In Love versioning Slim Smith's 'Rougher Yet' riddim. Furthermore Fiona shows her versatility with deejay Merciless on the ultra smooth dance track Have A Nice Weekend.
A highly recommended late-night moodmusic set !

Teacher & Mr. T.