Album review
Fire Fire Burning
Michael Rose & Admiral Tibet
HeartBeat Europe
16 - 08 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Michael Rose - Don't Mess With Gangster
  2. Michael Rose - Bun Dem Up
  3. Michael Rose - Deliver Me
  4. Michael Rose - Non Nuh Deh Deh
  5. Michael Rose - Don't Touch It
  6. Michael Rose - Take The Shame
  7. Admiral Tibet - Babylon
  8. Admiral Tibet - Fire Burning
  9. Admiral Tibet - Halla Me Halla
  10. Admiral Tibet - Too Much
  11. Admiral Tibet - Flirty Flirty
  12. Admiral Tibet - Is It Because
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Roots singer par excellence Michael Rose hardly needs any introduction. After some impressive efforts as a solo singer he joined the ranks of Black Uhuru, a band that subsequently became the first reggae superband of the post-Marley era. After contributing most compositions and lead vocals to a handful of classic Black Uhuru albums, he went on to pursue a solo career which he has successfully continued to this very day. Although not as high-profiled as his companion on this disc, Admiral Tibet has been a force to be reckoned with since the start of reggae's digital age. The young cultural singer kicked off his career with hit singles for successful producers like Winston Riley, Bobby Digital and Prince Jammy. Throughout his career he has always stayed true to his principal rejection of 'slackness' and 'guntalk' and, of course, the tracks on this album are no exception. Although he has been in the business for many years now, his success is still, amazingly, limited to Jamaican audiences and, outside the island, to a select group of hardcore reggae charts followers.
On this album we meet the two singers, each of them performing six songs, produced by Bunny Gemini and backed by the mighty Firehouse Crew. The album opens with a strong tune by Michael Rose, Don't Mess With Gangster, but Bun Dem Up is a weaker tune. Deliver Me and Non Nuh Deh Deh bring back memories of Black Uhuru. Don't Touch It is an avarage anti-drugs tune, while Take The Shame is a decent effort. Next comes Admiral Tibet. He is known and loved for his fine, mellow vocal delivery and excellent songwriting skills. His tunes are stronger and more consistent. The positive conscious lyrical content of his songs come to full expression on this album, while the production is solid with the instruments and backing vocals balancing up nicely.

Teacher & Mr. T.