Album review
Fire This Time
Ginger Girl Records

Tracking list

  1. Something tells me
  2. River Jordan
  3. Bad blood
  4. Get out of my head/A fire this time
  5. Universal way
  6. You and me
  7. Victim of the system
  8. Love of money
  9. Save the last dance for me
  10. Meet me in Negril
  11. You & me & Etan
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5

Cosmo was born in Jamaica, but moved to the USA, where he studied and embarked on a successful academic career.
His debut album, 'Fire This Time' is an enjoyable set of well-crafted songs, and a mixture of love and cultural lyrics. The album was recorded in the USA, with the help of some legendary reggae artists : George Fullwood, Santa Davis and Tony Chin.
'River Jordan' is an uptempo ska scorcher, and 'Bad Blood' is at least as memorable, and the cultural commentaries more than hold their own. Both 'You and Me' and 'Victim of the System' manage to make a fine impression, but Cosmo's rendition of The Drifters' classic hit 'Save The Last Dance For Me' makes the quality slip for an instant.
A nice debut set !

Teacher & Mr. T.          Buy the CD