Fools & Rebels
Aswah Greggori
Zoe Jah Productions
February 15, 1999

Track list
  1. What A Shame
  2. Save You From Yourself
  3. Fools & Rebels
  4. Hand In Hand
  5. Dirty Stinger
  6. Coming Again
  7. Dreadlocks Posse
  8. Madison
  9. Love Revolution
  10. This Train
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Born Louisiana U.S. 1946, Chicago-based Aswah Greggori is already a veteran in music. He fronts the 7-piece reggae unit the Enforcers with whom he managed to establish himself a name in the Chicago area due to their regularly playing throughout the midwest club, festival and special event circuit. Besides that they also received notable critical recognition and acclaim as they won awards for "Best Reggae Band" and "Most Culturally-Oriented entertainer" at the Chicago Music Awards 1998. Just prior to the Chicago Music Awards announcements Aswah Greggori and the Enforcers released this debut disc.

"Fools & Rebels" is a purely independent production released through the band's own Zoe Jah Productions. It collects ten solid message tunes - all delivered across tight played authentic rootical grooves - which will please every fan of well constructed roots reggae music. Good musicianship, great lyrics, nice additional backing vocals and a clear, powerful singing lead vocalist whose singing style is reminiscent of Michael Rose (however without the too-too twiee "gimmick") make this album well worth checking out. Best tracks are "Dirty Stinger", "Dreadlocks Posse", "Madison" and "This Train", the latter being a wicked upbeat dancehall style track.