Forever Version (Deluxe Edition)
Dennis Alcapone
September 7, 2007

Dennis Alcapone - Forever Version Track list
  1. Nanny Version
  2. Run Run
  3. Riddle I This
  4. Baby Version
  5. Sunday Version
  6. Version I Can Feel
  7. Forever Version
  8. Baby Why Version
  9. Dancing Version
  10. Midnight Version
  11. Sweet Talking Version
  12. Version You To The Ball
  13. Home Version
  14. El Paso
  15. Fever Teaser
  16. The Conqueror
  17. Power Version
  18. Forever Version-Extended
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 5-
Very Good -Votes: 6-
Good -Votes: 0-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 11
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4/5
Studio One is the label that discovered, and in many cases, helped create legacies for artists who became international legends, from Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, and Bunny Wailer of the Wailers to the Heptones, Burning Spear, Marcia Griffiths and Freddie McGregor. Even more amazing is the sheer volume of great recordings which were produced at Studio One by owner Clement S. Dodd, a true legend himself. He produced thousands of records resulting in hundreds of Jamaican hits which, in turn, inspired thousands of "versions" - adaptations of musical arrangements or blatant riddim track samples - over the years. In song after song, thirty-five year old riddims charge through the charts as if they were brand new. There are virtually unlimited examples of this practice - not only of charting with a Studio One cover version, but of succeeding simply because a song incorporates a recognizable Dodd-produced riddim. If there weren’t so many masterful riddims and bass lines in the Studio One catalog for others to use, the magic of today’s dancehall might not exist. Clement Dodd passed away in 2004, doing what he loved, working in his Brentford Road (Kingston) studio. He was awarded Jamaica’s Order of Distinction, was inducted into the Reggae Hall Of Fame, and Brentford Road was renamed Studio One Boulevard; yet nothing speaks more eloquently of his contributions than the music of Studio One.

One of the few deejays in Jamaica in the late 60s and early 70s, capable of giving the great U Roy any competition was Dennis "Alcapone" Smith. His popularity was primarily due to a unique style, which belied a deceptively relaxed way with lyrics. His style and use of lyrics had been developed during his time with the El Paso sound system, which he ran from 1969 to the early months of 1970. With Dennis as the main attraction and Lizzy and Samuel The First as alternate deejays, the El Passo set quickly became one of the island's most popular sound systems. During the first half of the 70s his output was prolific, recording for a variety of Kingston-based producers, which include Byron Smith, Phil Pratt, Bunny Lee, Alvin Ranglin, Prince Buster, Sonia Pottinger, Lee Perry, Joe Gibbs, and Duke Reid. The latter, who had issued U Roy's earliest hits, repeated his success with numerous tunes gathered on the best-selling album 'Soul To Soul-DJ's Choice', while Coxsone Dodd and Bunny Lee also put out collections of the deejay's sides, issuing 'Forever Version' and 'Guns Don't Argue', respectively.

His first release and hit tune for Coxsone was El Paso, a tune using the Brentford Road cut of the "You Don't Care" riddim. The album "Forever Version" was released in 1971. The songs on the album were an artistic success and easily rivaled the mighty U Roy's output for Duke Reid's Treasure Isle. The excellent pairing of Dennis on the Wailers' ska "Dancing Shoes" was a near perfect example of the deejay's ability to manage any style of riddim. Surprisingly the album contained two covers of other deejays. First there's the U Roy tune "Wear You To To Ball" and next comes Scotty's "Riddle I This". His smooth singing style of toasting is brilliantly captured on this album that also features a series of classic Brentford Road riddims including Larry & Alvin's "Nanny Goat", Delroy Wilson's "Run Run", Alton Ellis' "Sunday Coming", John Holt's "Love I Can Feel", The Cables' "Baby Why", and three songs by The Heptones namely "Baby", "Everybody's Talking" and "Sweet Talking". This 2007 deluxe edition, which makes this timeless music sound better than ever, features the rare stereo album mixes and adds an additional six bonus tracks including Dennis' versions to Ken Boothe's "Home", Nina Sola's "Barbwire", Horace Andy's "Fever", Delroy Wilson's "Trying To Conquer Me", The Clarendonians' "You Can't Be Happy", and an extended mix to Carlton & His Shoes' sublime "Love Me Forever" featuring the original vocal.

A must have!? Yeah, Yeah, YEAHHHH!!!