Album review
Rohan Lee & The Recipe
For The Poor
RUNN Records

Tracking list

  1. Are You Ready
  2. Still Improve
  3. Wolf
  4. Right Time
  5. For The Poor
  6. Zion Bound Train
  7. Feel No Way
  8. Boogie Yagga System
  9. No Ratings
  10. Ready Dub
  11. Wolf In Dub Clothing
  12. Right Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Newcomer Rohan Lee is a truly talented singer/songwriter in the tradition of the great cultural messengers from the seventies, a time now recognised as the heydays of Roots Reggae. The album opener "Are You Ready" sets the pace for what happens to be a well produced Roots Reggae album, delivering the sort of 'Word, Sound and Power' that will certainly appeal to a broad audience. It showcases the skills and talent of a much promising reggae artist from the Southeast of Kingston,Jamaica, who delivers his appealing conscious lyrics across authentic and entertaining roots riddims. On the 9 vocal tracks Rohan Lee makes a solid impression regarding his powerful vocal performance and lyrical delivery. Best tunes are "Still Improve", "Right Time", "Zion Bound Train", the wicked "No Ratings" and "Boogie Yagga System", the latter also issued as a CD single. On this enjoyable roots album Rohan Lee is backed by The Recipe, a reggae band formed by a couple of Dutch musicians who used to be part of a rootsband called 'The Vibe'. This band - complete with horns section - provides a powerful live sound and truly has done a good job, especially regarding the short period of time they work together with Rohan Lee. "For The Poor" is a solid and enjoyable Roots Reggae effort in its own right, well worth checking out !

Teacher & Mr. T.