Album review
Reggae $aver$ ~ Forward Ever, Backwards Never
Roots Radics

Tracking list

  1. True Believer
  2. True Dub
  3. Dread In South Africa
  4. Long Road
  5. Private Enemy
  6. Strong Like A Lion
  7. New Sound In Town
  8. She Loves Me
  9. How Could I Live
  10. I Live/Dub
  11. Don't Go
  12. One Away Man
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

"Reggae $aver$" is a series of album reissues from the U.S.-based Heartbeat label which includes the Roots Radics' album "Forward Ever, Backwards Never", originally released in 1990.
The Roots Radics first drew notable attention in 1979 when they worked for producer Henry "Junjo" Lawes and thus laid the riddim tracks for Barrington Levy's debut album "Bounty Hunter". It marked the start of a session band whose sound revolutionized reggae music and dominated it in the first half of the Eighties. In those days the band worked on innumerable sessions with as many different producers and with artists like Bunny Wailer, Israel Vibration, Wailing Souls, Hugh Mundell and Gregory Isaacs. The nucleus of the band consisted of Errol "Flabba" Holt, the late Eric "Bingy Bunny" Lamont and Lincoln "Style" Scott. Other members at various times included such fine musicians as Carlton "Santa" Davis, "Steely" Johnson, Dwight "Brother Dee" Pickney, Roy Hamilton and Earl Fitzsimmons. Before they formed the Roots Radics Flabba Holt and Bingy Bunny not only were part of Morris "Blacker" Wellington's acclaimed Morwells set-up, but had also enjoyed notable success as a solo performer or, in case of Bingy Bunny who had been teamed with Bongo Herman, as a duo.
This fine album is a compilation of studio work done by the Roots Radics, honing their late Eighties sound but still sounding fresh today. All tracks are originals and are written by either Dwight Pickney or Bingy Bunny. Best tracks include "Long Road", "How Could I Live" and "Don't Go".

Teacher & Mr. T.