Are You Ready
Frankie Paul
Cousins Records
September 24, 2006

Track list
  1. Are You Ready
  2. Mr. Loverman
  3. Sleepless Weekend
  4. Let Go Of The Bad Vibe
  5. Better Days
  6. You Come Running Back
  7. My Shining Star
  8. Lady In The Red Dress
  9. My True Love
  10. Ganjaman Anthem
  11. Concrete Jungle
  12. Take My Breath Away
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
Frankie Paul is often referred to as Jamaica's Stevie Wonder, and not just because of his visual impairment; like Wonder, he's a talented multi-instrumentalist with a tremendous vocal range. He was also extraordinarily prolific; part of the first wave of dancehall artists.

He started his recording career in earnest during the early '80s, and has since flooded the market with product, releasing countless singles and well over 30 albums. That's made his career difficult to track for all but the most ardent fans, but it also ensured that he's never been too far out of the spotlight on a constantly changing reggae scene. Frankie Paul reached his prime in the mid-'80s, cutting excellent albums like the George Phang-produced "Tidal Wave" (1985), "Alesha" (1987) and the Philip "Fatis" Burrell-produced "Warning" (1987). His hit singles included "Tidal Wave", "Alesha", "Cassanova", "Sara", "Fire Deh A Mus Mus Tail", "Slow Down" and many others.

It's good to see that artists like Frankie Paul are still making fine reggae tunes. Frankie Paul is back in 2006 with his new album: "Are You Ready". The album starts with the dancehall song "Are You Ready" and also "My Shining Star" over the "Watch This Sound" riddim is featured here. Again another album from Cousins Records featuring a lot of romance songs. The tunes that really stand out are the one drop "Better Days", the romance song "Lady In The Red Dress" and the roots tune "Concrete Jungle" about the hard life in the big city.

"Are You Ready" puts Frankie Paul back in the front of the reggae scene.