Album review
RAS Portraits...Frankie Paul
Frankie Paul

Tracking list

  1. Keep the faith
  2. Songs of freedom
  3. Don't pressure me
  4. Rub a dub market
  5. Dance hall nice
  6. Tato
  7. Children of Israel
  8. A we rule
  9. Give we what we want
  10. Work hard
  11. Gimme that potion
  12. Stick of sensi
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

RAS recently released the Frankie Paul "A We Rule" set, produced by Prince Jazzbo. Three tracks from this set plus tunes from the "Freedom" album (1996), 3 cuts from the 1994 cd "Hard Work" and songs from the late eighties clash (with Pinchers) album "Dancehall Duo" can be found on this delightful compilation. Frankie Paul is one of the most prolific singers in the history of reggae music. In the eighties Frankie Paul flooded the reggae market with his tunes. He was and still is one of the very few to overcome an overkill syndrome. His voice has power and dignity, and his interpretations of other people's material is mostly masterful. If you're not familiar with the Jamaican Stevie Wonder, Frankie Paul, this midprice cd could be just the right thing for you !
Check also out his Saxon album " I'm Ready " !

Teacher & Mr. T.