Freedom Blues
Jah Cure
VP Records
December 23, 2005

Track list
  1. Freedom Blues Radio - Protest
  2. Songs Of Freedom
  3. Sunny Day
  4. Jah Bless Me
  5. Good Morning Jah Jah
  6. King In The Jungle feat. Sizzla
  7. Chant feat. Spectacular
  8. Troddin The Valley
  9. Love Is The Solution
  10. Spread Jah Love
  11. Guide Us Jah
  12. Praises
  13. Get Up Stand Up
  14. Give It To Them
  15. Dancehall Vibe
  16. Move On
  17. Hi Hi
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Having released hit after hit including "Reflection", "Love Is", "Jamaica" and "Longing For" in the last eighteen months, it's obvious enigmatic roots singer Jah Cure not only has captivated the reggae audience worldwide, but he has also taken his place in the forefront of reggae music.

From his obscure early reputation amongst roots followers based on a series of killer 45's for a variety of labels through his incarceration some years ago in a Jamaican jail, and the resultant silence from one of the music's most promising new talents, to his recent re-emergence, on record at least, he still languishes in a prison cell.

Jah Cure rarely makes a bad record and sometimes makes great ones. At his best he's a singer able to convey something of the spirituality that many people love about roots reggae music. "Freedom Blues", actually a collection of Jamaican singles, features the monumental "Guide Us Jah", "Move On" and the stray Xterminator tune "Troddin The Valley" for evidence of this. He's not the only singer to do this of course, but few reach the heights, and Jah Cure appears to have been chosen.

Tunes like "Love Is The Solution", "Sunny Day", "Songs Of Freedom", "Jah Bless Me", "Praises", "Dancehall Vibes", "Get Up Stand Up" and the Beres Hammond produced "King In The Jungle" -- the classic Harmony House duet with Sizzla -- may be familiar to long time fans because essentially "Freedom Blues" is a rehash of the "Free Jah's Cure, The Album, The Truth" set that has been around for about five years now. The few recent recordings featured here include the excellent" Good Morning Jah Jah" on the "I Swear" riddim and "Hi Hi" on South Block's "Bingie Trod" riddim.

Even though this set fails to include the Jah Mason collaborations "Working So Hard" and "Run Come Love Me" and also the two Harmony House gems "Zion Way" and "Zion Await", it is a good purchase for those who have missed the 45s.