Album review
Bob Andy
I-Anka/Jove Music

Tracking list

  1. You think it's a joke
  2. I don't want to see you cry
  3. Freely
  4. No video
  5. Sun shines for me
  6. Cherry
  7. Level vibes
  8. Little brothers & sisters
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Keith Anderson, better known as Bob Andy released in late 1988 "Freely", which is available once again through I-Anka/Jove Music. The set comprises 8 tracks recorded throughout the middle '80's. Seven tracks are mixed by Ariwa's Mad Professor, and the album was recorded in London and Jamaica. "Freely" contains two versions of early Bob Andy classics : "Sun shines for me" and "I don't want to see you cry". The album still sounds remarkebly fresh, because Bob Andy's music is timeless. He emerged in the late 60s with a string of Jamaican hits, notably "Going home", "Unchained", "Feeling Soul" and "My time". Bob Andy's genius is best observed in his Studio One compilation "Bob Andy's Songbook". During the '70s he recorded for a variety of producers, and in 1978 he began a five year absence from the music scene as he became involved in acting. He recorded his latest album, "Hanging Tough" last year for producer Willie Lindo and got rave reviews.
"Freely" is a very fine, soulful eight track cd, with the expressive voice of Bob Andy performing thoughtful lyrics set within memorable song structures.

Teacher & Mr. T.