Coxsone Presents Free Soul
Peter Hunnigale
Pre-release LP
August 25, 2008

Track list
Side 1
  1. Good Vibes (Disco 45 mix)
  2. Leave Me Alone
  3. Mary J
  4. Time For Love
Side 2
  1. In The Ghetto (Re-Mix)
  2. Overcome
  3. Sensi (Re-Mix Two)
  4. 17 - This Is Life
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
In the fall of 2004 the Peckings brothers, Chris and Duke, released Bitty McLean's album "Peckings Presents... On Bond Street With The Supersonics". Their father and Studio One boss Coxsone Dodd were very close friends and when Mr. Peckings relocated to England and set up Peckings Records in Shepherds Bush, London, it became the official outlet for Coxsone Dodd’s stuff coming into the UK. Mr. and Mrs. Peckings have passed away and since the two brothers take care of business. Because Peckings is exclusively Studio One (and also Treasure Isle) they could come op with a concept which is based on drawing back some of the original riddim tracks, write new songs, and voice them.

The Bitty McLean album attracted notable attention, got rave reviews and inspired artists like e.g. Vivian Jones to work with the same concept. However it's Peter Hunnigale who follows in the footsteps of Bitty McLean with a full length album for the mighty Peckings. The limited pre-release LP, "Coxsone Presents Free Soul" contains eight tracks -- including the previously released 7" singles "Sensi", "Leave Me Alone", "Mary J", "In The Ghetto", and "Overcome" -- with a total playing time of 27 minutes and 53 seconds.

Peter Hunnigale, who is blessed with a sweet voice, is in very fine form and delivers some impeccable tunes in a lovers rock stylee over well selected classic riddims. From beginning to end this LP contains excellent music, which makes it a real joy to put the needle on the record. One can only hope Peckings will also release this collection on cd... and if so, with a few additional tracks please!