Album review
Free Up The Vibes
Glen Washington
VP Records-Walboomers Music
23 - 04 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Open Your Eyes
  2. Down Low
  3. One Bright Morning
  4. How Sweet It Will Be
  5. Stormy Weather
  6. Free Up The Vibes
  7. Before It's Over
  8. I Won't Let Them
  9. Can You Feel It
  10. Moonlight Memories
  11. Give Jah Praise
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Glen Washington is one of those countless reggae artists who enjoyed a brief moment of success and then vanished into obscurity. He topped the charts with the single 'Rockers Nu Crackers' for producer Joe Gibbs in the late 70s. He resurfaced some years back with the excellent 'Brother To Brother' for Coxsone Dodd. With his distinctive and soulful voice he easily voices over some classic Studio One riddims. Glen Washington has become one of reggae's most familiar voices through touring and constant recording. A stream of noteworthy albums was released the last years and his latest outing is this album entitled "Free Up The Vibes".
The album shows Glen in excellent form, singing pure gold over some topnotch riddims produced by UK based C. and R. Mcleod for the Stingray label. Only the last two tracks are produced by Tony Welch and Kenton Brown. The collection of songs are previously released singles and new tunes. The album opens very strong with the hitsingle Open You Eyes, followed by Down Low, another gem on the album. Next comes a stunning piece across Stingray's 'Lava' riddim, the beautifully arranged One Bright Morning. Riding Stingray's 'Muzik Street' riddim on How Sweet It Will Be Glen once again showcases his outstanding vocal qualities. Stormy Weather is an R'n'B influenced track, and the next tune, the title track Free Up the Vibes, is the most outstanding track on the album. Before It's Over uses the Bobby Digital build riddim 'Danger In Your Eyes'. Nuff roots and culture on I Won't Let Them, whilst Can You feel It is an heartfelt song.
With "Free Up the Vibes" Glen Washington delivers a great album, filled with topnotch songs.

Teacher & Mr. T.