Album review
From Babylon To Zion
Nasheed Recordings

Tracking list

  1. Live life
  2. Afrikan children
  3. Common sense
  4. Freedom
  5. Patience
  6. Samuel
  7. Protect the youth (with Russ Rankin)
  8. Dub verbs
  9. Know me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

From Babylon to Zion is a surprising and very interesting CD release from new reggae artist Krucial. Previously a member of Yard Squad reggae band (keyboards/vocals) for several years Krucial decided to pursue a solo career as singer/songwriter, a cap that obviously fits this young talent best. On his recent first release on the St. Louis-based Nasheed Recordings Krucial appears to be a singer with an appealing soulful voice - sometimes reminiscent of Michael Rose - who delivers his music and impressive conscious lyrics in a real good and fresh way, so that it keeps you involved all the way. This album unmistakably showcases the talent and skills of a youth predestined to achieve a breakthrough to a broad audience alongside recognition and appreciation in the reggae music industry. Almost every track is a solid effort with "Dub verbs" as one of the most outstanding tracks, a real killer tune !

Teacher & Mr. T.