Album review
From Crime To Kodesh
Chukki Starr
Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Nallage
  3. Revelation Time
  4. Love One Another featuring Jah Mason
  5. Bad Mind And Envy
  6. Love And Peace
  7. Blessings Gonna Flow
  8. My Only Joy featuring Junior Kelly
  9. Da Ghetto
  10. One For Me
  11. Heart Breaker featuring Ronnie Thwaites
  12. Girls Yu Fi Know
  13. Fight Me (Gwan Playa Hate)
  14. Arise Wi Fi Rise
  15. My Only Joy (Remix) featuring Junior Kelly
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Just before the end of the year 2001 Jet Star Records brings the reggae massive "From Crime To Kodesh", the eagerly awaited album from "The Prince Of NW10" aka Chukki Starr. The title of this album tells its own story. "From Crime To Kodesh" isn't alking about the transition from rags to riches, but a journey towards spiritual realisation as symbolised by the mystical city of Kodesh. Most of the tracks included here are produced in collaboration with Doctor Marshall and Mickey D. and recorded at Anchor Studios in Kingston JA. Other producers on board are Major of Starrdom Products ("Intro" and "My Only Joy"), Homar Harris of Jamstyle Records ("Arise We Fi Rise"), Chukki Starr & Jazwad ("Blessings Gonna Flow" and "Heart Breaker") and Chukki Starr himself for Cave Production ("Da Ghetto").
The earlier this year released "Forever Shall Praise" set - actually a collection of singles - already indicated that Chukki Starr is a versatile artist who can deal with a variety of styles of contemporary Black Music. Whether modern roots, dancehall or hiphop, he can truly handle it all!! Of course, the music lover will look for the vibe that suits his personal taste best. Regarding "From Crime To Kodesh", fans of modern roots music are treated well with such solid to excellent efforts like "Nallage" (answer version to Garnett Silk's "Hard Nut To Crack"), "Bad Mind And Envy", "Love And Peace" and "Blessings Gonna Flow", while the wicked combination tune with Jah Mason - "Love One Another - will certainly please the hardcore dancehall fan. Other notable tracks are "Da Ghetto" (with hard hitting reality lyrics over an infectious, R&B flavoured riddim), the biting "Fight Me (Gwan Playa Hate)" and "My Only Joy", the latter performed in combination with Junior Kelly.
Chukki Star's "From Crime To Kodesh" is a well balanced and entertaining album, which fully reflects the artist's true powers!

Teacher & Mr. T.