Album review
From Me To You
Toyin Adekale
Charm-Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. To See Your Smile
  2. I Have Got You Baby
  3. Don't Make Me Wait
  4. Find Yourself
  5. Man Wid De Agony Featuring Daddy Screw & Wickerman
  6. Standing On The Corner
  7. Nice 'n' Slow
  8. Second To None Featuring Daddy Screw
  9. Undying Love
  10. Call It A Day Featuring Scatta
  11. Sweet Mother
  12. Sweet Mother (Semi Accapella Mix)
  13. I Have Got You Baby (Alternative Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Toyin Adekale is a fine female singer from the U.K., who has maintained a lull of hits over the years thus gaining notable attention from fans of British Lovers rock. For "From Me To You", her second album to date, Toyin went to Jamaica where she teamed up with ace dancehall producers Steely & Clevie. However, this album mainly showcases the other side of the production skills of these two reggae vets, although it incorporates some dancehall oriented riddims as well. Steely & Clevie have created the right sound for Toyin Adekale's soft sultry vocal style and provide - together with Earl "Bagga" Walker, Dalton Browne, Robbie Lyn and Dean Fraser - some real good sounding backing tracks. Most of the riddims are fresh, but also some well known riddims from way back are featured on this album. Outstanding tracks include "I Have Got You Baby", "Find Yourself", "Standing On The Corner", "Undying Love" and "Sweet Mother", the latter being an impressive tune in which Toyin adekale artistically showcases her African background. "From Me To You" is a truly solid and well varied effort, which will please many reggae fans as there is surely something for everyone.

Teacher & Mr. T.