Album review
Full Cup
Midnite - Ras L Collaboration
Natural Vibes
December 27 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Sold Out
  2. The Sign
  3. Walk Wid I
  4. Chant Arda
  5. Man
  6. Togeda
  7. My Light
  8. Dey Ya
  9. My Staff
  10. Ganja Alagy
  11. Oil Scrolls
  12. Man Ethio
  13. Redeem Alone
  14. Reach
  15. Worthy Deeds
  16. Money Mint
  17. Man Dem
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

In recent years St. Croix's biggest reggae band Midnite has caused quite a stir among roots lovers from all over the world. By many they are seen as the true vanguards of conscious reggae music, while a few others don't understand why Midnite's lyrics and music have such a strong appeal. Despite of this all Midnite continues to explode forward with righteousness, riddims and Rasta reasonings, whether on their own productions or in collaboration with likeminded producers and musicians. "Full Cup" is such a collaboration project featuring the vocals and lyrics of Midnite's distinctive lead vocalist Vaughn Benjamin and the musical arrangements of Ras L, a talented young producer from St. Croix VI who played keyboards and bass on the song, "Old Robe" off of Midnite's "Assini" album. As can be expected from Vaughn Benjamin, "Full Cup" has a wide range of flows and topics, the latter tackled with fiery and in-depth lyrics, and a consistently solid chanting and singing. Thus we're treated to great tracks such as "Walk Wid I", "My Light", "Man Ethio", "Ganja Alagy", "Man Dem" and "Worthy Deeds".
"Full Cup" is an experimental album of hip hop roots production that may not be the best album to start with if you are a newcomer to Midnite, however their hard-core fans will surely enjoy it.

Teacher & Mr. T.