Album review
Fun Time
Runn Records

Tracking list

  1. Righteousness
  2. Jah Love Is Within Me
  3. Sit Down And Look
  4. To De Hip To De Hop
  5. Hot Like A Fire Featuring Nico Flex
  6. Close To You
  7. Only Love
  8. Too Lie
  9. Fun Time
  10. Every Woman In The World
  11. Smile For Me
  12. A1 Lover
  13. Want To Be Your Man
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

After his debut album "Ready For Dem", which was released by "MacD Records" in the first half of the nineties, singer Indu (born Vilmore Green and formerly known as Hindu) comes up with a spanking new album entitled "Fun Time". It is released by the Dutch reggae-label Runn Records - in association with the Ocho Rios-based World-A-Muzik Productions, the former Xrated Records - which thus continues its policy of mainly investing money in albums of talented young and/or relatively unknown artists in order to bring them to a wider audience. Tanya Stephens and Mikey Spice are two significant examples of artists who achieved a giant breakthrough after Runn Records had released their debut album.
Regarding this Barry O'Hare produced set, it's unlikely Indu can match or even outmatch the success of the aforementioned artists, but time will tell. No doubt Indu's "Fun Time" album is a nice and enjoyable effort, but in the long run Indu - who certainly proves to be a gifted songwriter - misses just that certain touch in his performance which discerns an artist from a truly good artist. Besides that Indu seemingly lacks a vocal style of his own as his vocal delivery changes regularly. Most striking are tunes like "Jah Love Is Within Me" and "Sit Down And Look" in which his style is reminiscent of Pinchers.
"Fun Time" brings you different moods ranging from lovers rock to more R&B/hip-hop flavoured reggae music with consciousness, positiveness and, of course, fun as the main ingredients. Best tracks are "To De Hip To De Hop", "Only Love" across the "Hot Milk" riddim - also used for Sizzla's "Black Woman And Child" - and Smile For Me" and "A1 Lover", which were previously released as 7" singles.

Teacher & Mr. T.