Album review
I Grade Records

Tracking list

  1. Zion
  2. Omega
  3. Don't Cry
  4. Most High
  5. Love Yourself
  6. Flesh And Bone
  7. Fya
  8. All Ova
  9. Walk Wid Me
  10. Rebel
  11. Jah Throne
  12. Mind Yu Own
  13. Sing Out
  14. Iron Sharpen Iron
  15. Fya Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Dezarie’s capitivating debut album "Fya" is a rather interesting album packed with conscious and spiritual music, which heralds the arrival of a new female voice to the roots scene. Dezarie was born on the exquisite island of St. Croix, where as a young princess she took part in various church and school choirs that would later aid in developing her unique vocal abilities. She then relocated to Atlanta, Georgia, where her teen experiences would open up a new world where she discovered her life's duty was to sing. Along the trod to spread the message of truth, she became inspired by an array of artists such as Burning Spear, Vaughn Benjamin, Israel Vibration, Culture and other foundation roots singers. Her prodigious musical talent was recognized and rewarded when she managed to capture the award of Best New Female Reggae Artist 2001 in Atlanta, GA. On her "Fya" album Dezarie demonstrates that she's more than capable of holding her own amongst reggae's finest female artists, both in terms of songwriting ability and vocal performance. Expertly backed by the Midnite Band, she delivers her rich, lyrical messages and a stunning range of vocal techniques over mainly slow-paced roots riddims that are typically first class. Dezarie's distinctive vocal delivery in combination with the live played original riddims sometimes bring forth a moody jazzy feel, which actually works very well. All tracks are solid efforts, however some of the very best are "Zion", "Omega", "Most High", "Walk Wid Me", "Jah Throne" and "Iron Sharpen Iron".

Teacher & Mr. T.