The Big Smoke
Gentleman's Dub Club
Easy Star Records
CD / LP / Digital Release
November 7, 2015

Track list
  1. Music Is The Girl I Love
  2. One Road
  3. Bad Girl
  4. Earthquake
  5. One Night Only feat. Natty
  6. Extraordinary
  7. Enter The Chamber
  8. Pressure
  9. Afraid Of The Dark
  10. Nocturnal feat. Josh Arcoleo
  11. See Them
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 2
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Gentleman's Dub Club is a reggae/dub/ska band from Leeds where they began their career in 2006. The band consist of nine members: Jonathan Scratchley (vocals), Tommy Evans (drums), Kola Bello (keyboards), Nick Tyson (guitar), Toby Davies (bass, synths), Niall Lavelle (percussion), Matt Roberts (trumpet), Kieren Gallagher (sax) and Harry Devenish (sound). Their are known for their energetic and exhilarating live shows, appearing at Goa to Glastonbury, Bestival, V Fest, Secret Garden Party, Poland’s Ostroda Reggae Festival, and Croatia’s Outlook Festival. They have supported a number of established artists such as Roots Manuva, The Streets, The Wailers, Busy Signal, U-Roy, and Finley Quaye.

Their debut set FOURtyFOUR, drew upon the city of Leeds as inspiration for a collection of songs that reflected on their initial development period. A few years later the band can all be found in and around the capital, and it was this shift of location, and the band’s experiences within the big city, that inspired the new album. Using London as a backdrop, "The Big Smoke" explores everything from the personal to the philosophical and is peppered with Gentleman's Dub Club sense of fun and vitality.

The 11 track album is a pleasant mix of dubbed up laid-back tunes and uptempo, danceable tunes such as the album opener, the smasher "Music Is The Girl I Love", the title says it all, that is voiced across an infectious fast paced backdrop! In the same vein are the tunes "Pressure", "Extraordinary" and "Nocturnal". The latter is spiced up by a contribution of Josh Arcoleo, an extremely talented young saxophonist. Another guest contribution comes from talented UK vocalist Natty; check out "One Night Only". One of the outstanding tunes here is "One Road", a dub fueled 'autobiographical' gem, top notch tune! The instrumental tune "Enter The Chamber" is often used as the band's live show opener. The moody and dark "Afraid Of The Dark" is an atmospheric musical journey! The closing tune is "See Them", a very laid-back and dubby tune, a perfect tune to sit back and relax and to round off the album.

Higly recommended!